

## HOTEL AND RESTAURANT ASSOCIATION (WESTERN INDIA)

President of Honour: Dr. Ajit B. Kerkar Member of Honour: Vivek Nair President: Sherry Bhatia Sr. Vice President: Pradeep Shetty Vice President: Chetan Mehta Hon. Secretary: Jimmy P. Shaw Jt. Hon. Secretary: Paramjit S. Ghai Hon. Treasurer: Dilip Kothari Secretary General: Aspi Nallaseth

## **ELECTION INTIMATION**

- At the forthcoming 71<sup>st</sup> Annual General Meeting to be held on Wednesday, 22<sup>nd</sup> September, 2021, the following members of the Executive Committee retire by rotation:
  - a) **Dr. Suhas Awchat** and **Mr. Pradeep Shetty** representing the Restaurant category.
  - b) Mr. Vijay Shewakramani, Mr. Satyen Jain, Mr. Paramjeet Singh Ghai and Mr. Gurbir Bedi representing the Hotel category.
- 2. Mr. Vijay Shewakramani is not eligible for re-election as per Article 17(b) which states that an individual shall be eligible to contest for Executive Committee Election only for four consecutive terms and he shall compulsorily take a break after such four terms, but shall be eligible to contest the Election after a break of one year.
- 3. In terms of the Companies (Management and Administration) Amendment Rules, 2015 which came into force on March 19,2015, the Association is required to provide:-
  - Facility for voting by electronic means and the business may be transacted through such voting;
  - Facility for voting, either through e-voting system or ballot or polling paper shall also be made available at the meeting and members attending the meeting who have not already cast their vote by remote e-voting shall be able to exercise their right at the meeting;
- 4. In terms of the authority and power vested in the Executive Committee to make such rules and regulations to carry out the election process, the Committee has decided as under:

The schedule and process of election will be as under:-

- Issue of intimation regarding election by Wednesday, 11<sup>th</sup> August, 2021, by 6.00 p.m.
- ii. Submission of nominations it is mandatory for the Nominee to have a Director's Identification Number (DIN) while submitting the same, for the respective categories by **Saturday**, **21**<sup>st</sup> **August**, **2021**, **by 6.00 p.m**.
- iii. Scrutiny of Nomination papers on **Monday, 23<sup>rd</sup> August, 2021, by 6.00** p.m.
- iv. Withdrawal of Nomination papers by **Thursday, 26<sup>th</sup> August, 2021,** by **5.00 p.m.**
- v. Dispatch to members of list of candidates for election to the respective category, by Saturday, 28<sup>th</sup> August, 2021, by 6.00 p.m., under Certificate of Posting /Speed post / Courier.
- vi. HRAWI has appointed M/s Right2Vote Infotech Private Limited, as service providers for setting up an electronic platform to facilitate E-Voting. They will provide login ID and Password directly to the eligible voters.
- vii. The e-voting period will commence on Saturday, 18<sup>th</sup> September, 2021, (9:00 am) and ends on Tuesday, 21<sup>st</sup> September, 2021, (5:00 pm). The E-Voting module shall be disabled thereafter. Once the vote on a resolution is cast by the member, the member shall not be allowed to change it subsequently or cast vote again.
- viii. The facility for voting by ballot paper for elections shall also be made available on **Wednesday**, **22**<sup>nd</sup> **September**, **2021**, at the **venue of the 71**<sup>st</sup> **Annual General Meeting** and members who have not already cast their vote by remote E-Voting shall be able to exercise their rights.

- ix. In case there is LOCKDOWN imposed in the city as on the date of the Meeting, provision for attendance through video conferencing (VC) or other audio visual means (OAVM) will be made available to the members entitled to attend the Meeting and details for the same will be provided to the members via email at least 7 days before the Meeting date and will be held in compliance with General Circulars issued by the Ministry of Corporate Affairs ("MCA") as may be amended from time to time. Accordingly, voting though electronic means will be made available on the date of the AGM to those members who have not cast their vote through E-Voting.
- x. The members who have cast their vote by remote e-voting prior to the meeting may also attend the meeting but shall not be entitled to cast their vote again.
- xi. The Scrutinizer will immediately after the conclusion of physical Ballot voting on Wednesday, 22<sup>nd</sup> September, 2021, will first count the votes cast on the date of the AGM and add it with the votes cast through remote E-Voting after unblocking the e-votes in the presence of at least two (2) witnesses not in the employment of the Association.
- xii. On any dispute arising from the Election, the decision of the Scrutinizer shall be final.
- The scrutinizer will submit his report to the Chairman of 71st Annual General Meeting, who shall declare the result of the voting. The Results shall be declared on Wednesday, 22nd September, 2021, during the 71st Annual General Meeting of the Association. The Results declared along with the Scrutinizer's Report shall be placed on the website of the Association <a href="www.hrawi.com">www.hrawi.com</a>. The resolution shall be deemed to be passed at the 71st Annual General Meeting of the Association scheduled to be held on Wednesday, 22nd September, 2021.

xiv. Nomination Forms for election to the Executive Committee are available at the Secretariat of the Association. However, due to the present pandemic and lockdown, members may request for nomination forms by email sent to secgen@hrawi.com, from the email address registered with the Association. The Secretary General will issue the nomination form in the name of the candidate only,

Similarly, submission of the nomination forms can be done via scan copies of the nomination forms from the registered email address of the member's establishment. Even withdrawal request may also be sent through email.

- 5. Contesting members are requested to forward along with the prescribed nomination form, a brief **bio-data** and **photograph**, which will be circulated by the Association to the respective categories of members, as per format attached to the nomination form.
- 6. Canvassing by candidates including persons other than the candidates as well, through any means and including WhatsApp, Emails, SMS, phone calls or any such general broadcast communications to Members at large is strictly prohibited.
- 7. The Executive Committee has appointed Mr. Dilip Kothari, as the Election Officer and Mr. Martinho Ferrao, Practicing Company Secretary as Scrutinizer, for conducting the election in an orderly manner and their decision will be final and binding.

Dated: 11th August, 2021.

Aspi Nallaseth

Secretary General.